FAQ

11. Are there any limitations on the implementation period of the projects?

There are no limitations on the implementation period of the grant project. Everything depends on the nature of the specific project, but the SFK recommends to approach reasonably the project implementation period, i.e. not to reduce it too much, nor yet to extend it too much, because in the former case this can affect the quality of the project implementation; in the latter case this can lead to an increase in the project budget. It should also be noted that after signing the Grant Agreement the project shall be implemented in strict compliance with the time limits specified in the Agreement.

Expand
Collapse

12. How is the execution of the SFK’s grant being tracked in terms of achieving the goals and tasks of the project?

The Grant Monitoring and Assessment (M&A) System has been developed in the SFK. The SFK applies several tools for monitoring and assessment of grants in relation to the grantees, which include the inspection of the grant reporting, the monitoring visits to the grantees’ organizations, visit of the events held within the framework of the grant, recording and tracking of achievement of target values (project indicators), the collection and processing of information from the project partners and beneficiaries, and the project evaluation.

Monitoring and assessment of the project are carried out according to approved policy and procedures of the SFK; the M&A results are brought to notice of all the stakeholders, including the grantee. Following the M&A results, the SFK draws a conclusion on success of the grant issued, reasonability of continuing activity under the grant and cooperation with the grantee. 

Expand
Collapse

13. May an organization give a sub(mini)-grant within the framework of the SFK’s grant?

The grantees do not have the right to give sub-grants to third parties from the funds of the SFK’s grant. 

Expand
Collapse

14. What costs are not covered within the framework of the SFK’s grant?

Within the framework of the SFK’s grant the funds may not be expended for the following:

  • Entertainment expenses, gratuities, fines, alcoholic and tobacco products;
  • Commission fees and interests paid as a result of the loan utilization;
  • Payments in favor of any political campaign and party;
  • Sub-grants;
  • Other expenses not specified in the project budget.
  • Purchase of buildings, vehicles and expensive equipment;
  • Overhaul; 
  • Financial assistance to private individuals; 
  • Costly ceremonies;
  • Expenses for unlicensed products (including software), products and materials;

Furthermore, some grant agreements contain other specially stipulated limitations, such as the prohibition to use the grant funds for the purpose of changing the regulatory legal acts of the Republic of Kazakhstan and other countries, initiating new regulatory legal acts, influencing the election process, etc. The text of the grant agreement shall be read carefully before signature, and subsequently all its terms and conditions shall be strictly observed.

Expand
Collapse

15. Are the letters of support to be provided together with the grant application?

Provision of the letters of support is not a mandatory requirement, however this depends on the nature of the project. If the project execution substantially depends on the participation of any key partner (for example, any state authority and/or institutions), the availability of the letter of support from this partner may increase the chances for financing. Moreover, in the course of preparing the approved project for signature of the Grant Agreement, the SFK may request such letters from the project’s key partners specified in the grant application. 

Expand
Collapse

16. If our organization has submitted the application for the same project to several donor organizations, is it necessary to specify this in the grant application of the SFK?

Yes, this should be specified in Section 11 “Financing from other sources” of the grant application. If the organization receives a grant for the project implementation from another donor organization, with respect to which a positive decision on the grant allocation would be adopted by the SFK, this shall be outspoken openly in the SFK. A decision with respect to this issue will be made separately, taking into account all details and specific features of the project. 

Expand
Collapse

17. What currency shall be used in the budgets? US Dollars or Kazakhstani Tenge?

Budgets in the grant applications are to be submitted only in Kazakhstani Tenge.

Expand
Collapse

18. What tax deductions shall be included in the calculation of salaries and wages for the employees?

Two types of deductions – mandatory pension contributions (10%) and social contributions (5%) shall be included for calculation of the budget item “Salaries and wages”. The SFK is included in the list of official donor organizations of the Republic of Kazakhstan and this means that the SFK’s grantees are released from social tax.

Expand
Collapse

19. Are such indirect expenses as office rental and/or utility expenses financed?

Yes, but such expenses shall be reasonable and relative to the projects financed by the Foundation. If the organization implements several projects, such expenses shall be distributed among all the projects, and not only be applied to the projects funded by the SFK. If the organization does not have other projects, the SFK will consider the opportunity of 100% coverage of these expenses, provided that they are not large in amount and within reasonable bounds.

Expand
Collapse

20. Are the documents submitted together with the application to be notarized?

No, there is no need to notarize the documents.

Expand
Collapse

Часто задаваемые вопросы

11. Существуют ли ограничения по сроку реализации проектов?

Ограничений по сроку реализации грантового проекта не существует. Все зависит от характера конкретного проекта, однако ФСК рекомендует разумно подходить к срокам реализации проекта, т.е. не слишком его сокращать, но и не слишком растягивать, т.к. в первом случае это может повлиять на качество реализации проекта, во втором – привести к увеличению бюджета проекта. Необходимо также отметить, что после подписания Договора о гранте проект должен быть реализован строго согласно указанных в Договоре сроках.

Развернуть
Свернуть

12. Как отслеживается выполнение гранта ФСК с точки зрения достижения цели и задач проекта?

В ФСК разработана система мониторинга и оценки (МиО) гранта. По отношению к грантополучателям в ФСК применяет несколько инструментов мониторинга и оценки грантов, в которые входят проверка отчетности по гранту, мониторинговые визиты в организации грантополучателей, посещение мероприятий, проводимых в рамках гранта, фиксация и отслеживание выполнение целевых показателей (индикаторов проекта), сбор и обработка информации от партнеров и бенефициаров проекта, оценка проекта. Мониторинг и оценка проекта проводятся согласно утвержденной политике и процедурам ФСК, результаты МиО доводятся до сведения всех заинтересованных сторон, в том числе и грантополучателя. По результатам МиО ФСК делает вывод об успешности выданного гранта, целесообразности продолжения деятельности по гранту и сотрудничества с грантополучателем.

Развернуть
Свернуть

13. Может ли организация выдать суб(мини)грант в рамках гранта ФСК?

Грантополучатели не вправе выдавать субгранты третьим сторонам из средств гранта ФСК.

Развернуть
Свернуть

14. Какие расходы не покрываются в рамках гранта ФСК?

В рамках гранта ФСК нельзя расходовать средства на следующее:

  • Расходы на развлечения, чаевые, штрафы, алкогольную и табачную продукцию;
  • Комиссии и проценты, выплачиваемые вследствие использования займов;
  • Выплаты в пользу какой-либо политической кампании и партии;
  • Субгранты;
  • Другие расходы, не указанные в бюджете проекта.
  • Покупка зданий, транспортных средств и дорогостоящего оборудования;
  • Капитальный ремонт;
  • Финансовая помощь частным лицам;
  • Дорогостоящие церемонии;
  • Расходы на нелицензированные продукты (в том числе – программные), изделия и материалы;

Кроме того, некоторые грантовые договоры содержат и другие особо оговоренные ограничения, такие как запрет использования средств гранта с целью изменения нормативно-правовых актов Республики Казахстан и других стран, инициирования новых нормативно-правовых актов, оказания влияния на избирательный процесс и др. Необходимо внимательно читать текст грантового договора до подписания и впоследствии строго соблюдать все его условия.

Развернуть
Свернуть

15. Необходимо ли предоставлять письма поддержки вместе с заявкой на грант?

Предоставление писем-поддержки не является обязательным условием, вместе с тем это зависит от характера проекта. Если выполнение проекта существенным образом зависит от участие какого-либо ключевого партнера (например, какого-либо гос. органа и/или учреждения), наличие письма-поддержки от этого партнера может увеличить шансы на финансирование. Кроме того, в процессе подготовки одобренного проекта к подписанию Договора о гранте, ФСК может запросить такие письма от ключевых партнеров проекта, указанных в грантовой заявке.  

Развернуть
Свернуть

16. Если наша организация подала заявку на один и тот же проект в несколько донорских организаций, необходимо ли указывать это в грантовой заявке ФСК?

Да, это необходимо указать в разделе 11 «Финансирование из других источников» грантовой заявки. Если организация получит грант от другой донорской организации на реализацию проекта, по которому будет принято положительное решение о выделении гранта и от ФСК, об этом необходимо открыто заявить в ФСК. Решение по этому вопросу будет принято отдельно с учетом всех деталей и специфики проекта. 

Развернуть
Свернуть

17. Какую валюту необходимо использовать в бюджетах? Доллары США или Казахстанские тенге?

Бюджеты в грантовых заявках необходимо представлять только в Казахстанских тенге.

Развернуть
Свернуть

18. Какие налоговые отчисления должны быть включены при расчете заработной платы сотрудникам?

Для подсчета бюджетной статьи «Заработная плата» должны быть включены два типа отчислений – обязательные пенсионные отчисления (10%) и социальные отчисления (5%). ФСК включен в список официальных донорских организаций РК и это означает, что грантополучатели ФСК  освобождены от социального налога.

Развернуть
Свернуть

19. Финансируются ли непрямые расходы, такие как аренда офиса и/или коммунальные расходы?

Да, но такие расходы должны быть разумными и соотносимыми с финансируемыми Фондом  проектами. Если организация реализует несколько проектов, такого рода расходы должны быть разнесены между всеми проектами, а не только относится к проектам, финансируемым по линии ФСК. Если у организации нет других проектов, ФСК рассмотрит возможность 100% покрытия данных расходов при условии, что они небольшие по размерам и находятся в пределах разумного.

Развернуть
Свернуть

20. Нужно ли заверять документы, подаваемые вместе с заявкой, нотариально?

Нет, документы нотариально заверять не нужно.

Развернуть
Свернуть